The Popcorn Writing Award 2021

Established in 2019 by Popcorn Group, the Popcorn Writing Award celebrates fearless work which playfully and artistically questions and addresses current affairs, societal trends and contributes positively to public debate.

The award champions brave and imaginative writing at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. It is the only award of its kind, awarding a prize fund of £6,000 and a guaranteed slot at one of the partnering venues.

Alongside Summerhall, Popcorn partners with Traverse Theatre, Assembly, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance and Underbelly.

Each year Popcorn puts together a committee that select the winners from our shortlist to award the prizes.

Past committees have included: Emmy-nominated Lena Headey, BAFTA-winning Wunmi Mosaku, Academy-award winning Gonzalo Maza, Golden-Globe winning Ruth Wilson and many others.

Due to the ongoing uncertainty surrounding this year’s Edinburgh Festival, the award will work slightly differently for 2021. Find out more, including about this year’s panel, by visiting


Submissions are now closed.


All plays submitted will be considered provided they are:

  1. A new piece of writing (only been performed once before) of at least approx 50 mins playing time.
  2. Written by a writer, or presented by a company, who have been programmed by one of the partner venues at the Fringe after and including Edinburgh Fringe 2015.
  3. Please note that only Summerhall affiliated artists/writers/companies can submit to us. If you have a previous affiliation with any of the other supporting venues, please apply directly to them.


Submissions are now closed.